About us

Pudding* is seven. He was diagnosed with MPS II on July 1st 2015, after a history of development delay, particularly language. He loves eating, football, running in the opposite direction to everyone else, and watching ‘Sarah and Duck’ on TV.

Big brother, T*, is nine and in Year 5 at school. He loves playing with Lego and on computer games. Latest obsession is Dungeons and Dragons.

Hubby works in a computer software company, and in the evenings winds down by drawing. He is currently plugging away at a graphic novel idea that has been germinating for a while.

As for me, I’m a stay at home mum. In previous lives I have worked for Oxfam, and then as a complementary therapist. I look after Niece (13) and Nephew (11) on a regular basis and, when not surrounded by children, am working on a novel. When we first heard about MPS I started writing a diary about it, needing an outlet for all these conflicting emotions – I’ve now turned it into a blog so that friends and family can keep up with our latest news. It’s also the sort of thing that I wanted to read in those scary early days – knowing that other people felt the same sort of turmoil – so although this blog is very much our personal story, hopefully it may help another newly diagnosed family in the future.

* Pudding and Twiglet were the nicknames I used for each of them when pregnant, so I started using them in this blog as I don’t want to use their real names. While Pudding still feels appropriate for my littlest round boy, my eldest has done quite a bit of growing up lately, so I now just refer to him as T.